Dear J_________:
I had a very amazing, dream, illustrative of my enormous growth, just this morning (Thursday) so I decided to write this. Now I have decided
to blog it, as I know (OK suspect) I overwhelm you with words, and you may
not even read it. So here it is on line. It’s too bad our
family dynamics are so entrenched, but I cannot change that.
All my life I always wanted to help everyone. I did, and I do-- quite a lot. No
one knows most of these stories—but I do. I wish I had a witness (that was you. I thought.)
Until very recently I thought this was a
symptom of my messedupness.
I have “always” known I was messed up. Until the last few months SOME part of
me was messed up.
I tried so long and
so hard to get my mother and sister to love me, so very unsuccessfully, and
child self was always and forever trying to get them to love me. (Maybe this is a sort of “Stockholm
syndrome.) I appeased them so much, so
unsuccessfully that I just unconsciously assumed that my helping, doing things for all and sundry, WANTING to kiss every booboo
and make it better, was all part of the appeasement/needy/kick me syndrome. Still...
I kept doing it, and felt... well, more messed up--but at the same time it felt RIGHT
to be me, and I knew "me" was made that way. This was VERY confusing.
Now that I really
understand the HSP condition (and have interacted with many many HSPs) I am
clear it is part of that package.
It’s a good thing… but can be dangerous. It was for me. Still, it was who I
was. I it who I am. Did I mention this was confusing? All I wanted was to give, and to be loved, and to
be seen—but it just didn’t work. (Notice I said GIVE. I could not ask for help or love, or_____--and worse yet, I kept
it away… Just as Marge did, but somewhat less so, I think. Except for David. David loved me. Loves me, now and forever.)
Still, even as I
began to grasp what I was up against with the family—with help from a terrific
therapist—I could not stop trying to appease Noël—and (I now see... you.) Back in the 90s I
had begun to see that there was a problem and
I had begun to try to be seen through Noël’s projections. I didn’t know what any of it
was then—I just sensed she never saw me or spoke to me—that something was
“off”. I described it this way: I said “My experience of our communications is
that something is phony.” It made her go ballistic, of course. I emailed her—she
snail mailed me a letter where she said a she was not a string of things I had
never thought—let alone said. Even then I knew this was her ‘stuff”—nothing to
do with me. (Please note I addressed actions—not her qualities or her value as
a person. But clearly she felt attacked—but in ways she herself believed secretly were true.)
This is a lot like
you just did—although you never admit to feeling anything and you are less invested in it than Noël. But, “I am not a hairy women”? Where on earth did that come from? Not me. I have some
ideas what that equates to in terms of shadow and anima… but I will mostly keep
my mouth shut,as I always have with Noël. (I don’t just up and tell people things they don’t want to know, unless
they are paying me to. Unless they have ASKED for my professional opinion. Or... misstated the truth...that will do it. I confess.)
The point is I was
struggling to understand me and get out of the pit of being and feeling “bad and wrong.” But as
hard as I worked on it, as
hard as I worked on me, I still felt defective for so many reasons. And what I secretly thought... "they" said. Ouch. Funny how that works. Now tghat I don't think this stuff... no one says it.
Anyway, off and on
I gave up on Noël. (I have cut many people out of my life when they turned on me. It's an HSP thing.) Even at Summit
they seemed to be telling me to give it up with Noël… but I didn’t. Not
really. Not from 1984 when I started at Summit,
and not until 2007. But because I had never heard of HSP, I felt there was something wrong with me—or why would this keep
happening? So much evidence that I truly was defective. (What I was --I NOW KNOW-- was a) HSP, b) traumatized and c) full of shame.
Anyway, in 2007, when I
felt the best I had for a long time—ever, really
(this was before he economy started to go
south and my law practice with it) I said to her “can’t we just bury the hatchet?” She said
no, she “doesn’t trust me.” (Hatchet
murderer that I am.) So I gave up again for 3 more years. Her old boyfriend sort of gave me permission, bless him.
Then in 2010 she “wanted a sister”—I was at your house—so she reached out. Wrote
to me. Of course, although I have always suspected she wanted something
from me she would not ask for, this was OPENLY and purely for her own benefit, for her
own ends. With trepidation and your encouragement, I tried it. I tiptoed, I
walked on eggs…I APPEASED. Of course it didn't go far. Of COURSE every detail had to be
on her terms. Soon enough, she did one of the things I
am not OK with, so I ended that "phony conversation.” Since then, recently, she
got snarky with me on the genealogy web site, so we had one more brief interchange—same tune, same outcome. Her
terms--her accusations. Not OK with me.
She swears I did terrible unspecified things to her in our childhood. (or some other time? I did ask
what I needed to know about that I had done wrong, in 2010... she declined to answer.) I apologized her, but she has never apologized to me--ever.
In my mind, from here in, she an I are
not related except by blood. By
accident. Our shared history never connected us as wee have two different recollections
of every bit of it. Now the same is happening with you. Apology from me, attempts to be seen and heard by you... No dice. You see what you want to see--and what you see isthe problem is always......... me. NEVER you, or anything you did.
Last week you started
a conversation, on YOUR terms… Alas fr you, I am different then I was when you saw me last-- am not needy. I an not willing to appease or please you. So, you have decreed...no
conversation shall continue. Your decision-- I get no say. A decision that 100% DISEMPOWERS ME. No, you don’t
accuse me of the things Noël accuses me of—just (suddenly) of being manipulative and
emasculating. But I reponded, I am sure to your displeasure, that you are the one manipulating me. "EMASCULATING" ME. (!) BY THE WAY--this accusation by you that I was (for the first time in the 40 some years we have known each other, "being manipulative and
emasculating" did not trigger, bother or upset me in the least ,as a there is zero truth to
it. It hits no nerve. It just one of those "Where on earth did that come from?" things.
During my visit to Vermont, I first became aware YOU were projecting onto me. I didn’t dare stand up to you,then, except
a few token efforts--but those were a lot for me in the state I was in. Now... this. You gotta see this is a pretty amazing (dare I say shitty) way to “resolve”, understand, love or... well, do anything
that would heal the family curse. The family wounds. To heal ANYTHING in relationship terms.
As they say these days... "Seriously?"
Now that I am recovered from all the trauma, and now that I have had that huge breakthrough and
lived with it for a year, now I can see how much I was always appeasing you and how
much I HAD BEEN appeasing you for years. I confess this is a form of manipulation-- a covert attempt to get something. I needed to feel there was someone
who loved me, who was there for me, so I appeased.
Manipulation
is when you want something from someone and won't just ask for it outright. We
both grew up with mothers whom did this, so it is very hard to be otherwise. So, yes, I did
it—instead of asking for love I tried to get it by kissing up to you. I did. I almost never spoke up when
you were all wet or of base. (I won't go into detail as it will just piss you off. In fact,
I am pretty sure that lack of appeasement is 99% of what is causing you to be angry and project
that anger onto me now.) So, OK-- in a sense that I can be said to have engaged in manipulation.
But at long last, I can just ask for what I
want. (God this feels good! That is why--or how-- I just flat out asked for an
apology—which started this whole mishegas of you calling me manipulative and emasculating.) I don't expect to GET it-- I just need to ask straight out--NOT be manipulating.
That huge
breakthrough, during my year in the hotel in San Juan Capistrano? I stood up to a
sociopath who was trying mightily to manipulate me…(while I was driving. Winging it. Don’t worry; I was on
surface streets, in an intersection going VERY slow.) I did it!!!!!!!!! I stood
firm. NO guilt, no doubt, no fear—I told him what MY terms were. I did not give an inch.
When I got back to
the hotel I said OUT LOUD—“Carroll—I think you now have on board SSS—Sociopath Survival
System.” The final clue that I did have SSS was that that that night I had ghastly,violent and disturbing nightmares. None like them before and none since. SOMETHING
in me thought if I stood up to this type of behavior I would die. I broke through
that barrier, and part of me—that protective part—was violently alarmed. But it seems all the years of work I had done was enough to allow the old, false protector (and false identity) to die, overnight,
and it did. it dies. It's gone.
It has been over a year now and I have not had any more sociopaths.
One guy tried some ugly stuff (Him:"Are you gullible?” Me: “No". Him: "Blah
blah blah (translation "yes you are”.
Me: “Keep this up and we’re done”. Him: " Blah blah..." Me--end of conversion, end of
date.
Later, my friend Ai-Ling
pointed out several clues that he was a controlling type. Multiple calls on my cell in one hour, the strange way he drove me back to Sedona when I had clammed up... Clues. Thanks Ai-Ling! Anyway,
he was outta MY life real quick. Now when my inner witch-–my "don’t you mess
with me thank you very much”--comes out it is ON PURPOSE. MY CHOICE. This feels WONDERFUL.
One more thing about
HSPs—we “cut people out of our lives” when they hurt us. I have done this for
years. As usual, I thought it was just me being messed up—until I read about the
HSP “world”. I read so much more about HSP. I see now I am JUST an HSP—and
I see how this applies to our relationship.
BUT FOR our long history and but for our BEING FAMILY—(and my really having no family)-that I would have just cut
you out of my life already. I have been so close.
But I see it is now
time. We cannot communicate—and there is no way resolve this mess. When you
began this recent conversation, my first observation was that you had, for some
reason, chosen to frame it as not
having to do with our family. For whatever reason you chose to frame it as “man
woman stuff.” I knew that was not the
issue, but if it facilitated discussion
I was fine with it—until you wrote and accused me of “venting” when I not only
was not angry but had said not one thing
that could be described as venting. (If you look at when I WAS angry with you I
ALWAYS signed off “your angry cousin.)
Oh, yes, I said things you didn’t like, but
that’s a whole ‘nother animal. That’s calling you out—maybe even fighting. Fighting
fair is HEALTHY, just as some anger is healthy. You said plenty of things to me
you knew I didn’t like. Mean things. That was OK according to you—so—when you did it. Now finally I am able to do
it. Only I am not being mean—I am not kicking you when you are down--I am just
telling it like it is.
I see the problem. Problems.
1.
Like Noël, you decree the conversation has to be on YOUR terms—or else.
2.
By doing that, by ending the conversation you started by saying you would not talk to me because I was “angry” and “venting”, you were “cutting me off at the knees”. (Especially as I can't stop
doing what I didn’t do. Oops—that’s emasculation… for wo/men. Can you see the irony
here?)
3.
You were probably angry, because God knows I wasn’t. (I am happier than
I have ever been; happy people don’t do angry.) I wrote what I did to you earlier,
when I WAS angry, because I needed to speak my truth—but that was lifetimes
ago. It was a very important part of me TAKING BACK MY POWER. (And signing it "your angry cousin.) That worked. Then seeing the addict
part was the end of the anger, and a HUGE part of my healing. So no—as asinine as you are being, I am still not
angry. In fact, I feel sorry for you. Sorry—I do.
I
almost was angry when I realized what
you had done—and yes, what you are doing IS manipulation, and yes emasculation
and PROJECTING—but then I realized it was just time to give it up. Cut you out
of my life. You are my closest kin, as Noël is a truly lost cause, so that’s
still hard to do. But I can do no more. I can’t change you—but I can say
goodbye to you.I see no hope of actual communication.
This is not to say
you did not help me in some--many-- ways. You absolutely did. And I did my
part in the dysfunction—I did stay mum when you were wrong-over and over and over. I was (As I have mentioned too many times by now) appeasing you. In a certain sense
that IS manipulation. Nothing meant to hurt or disempower you—but plenty unconsciously meant to KEEP you from abandoning me. This too may be part HSP stuff.
I needed you. I
didn’t know any other way to be or act with someone I needed love from. With
family. I still don’t. (Nicky and I don’t interact this way—I think he was the
“designated patient” in your family and he never projects. But I imagine I will
lose him now, too. Just like with Noël and the kids. I hope I am wrong.)
There is no hope for us. I thought there
might be—I dared hope you would take what I had written about the maiden to one
of your men and talk. Look inside. Do
your shadow work—as you felt free to tell me I should do, back in our disastrous Fall of 2010.
It is our only hope. (I have done mine, for years, and will do continue to do mine. I can’t do
yours.) Us HSPS have an advantage
here--for good or ill.
Yes, I HOPED you would really own the facts I pointed out to you--CALLED YOU
OUT ON—like that you “can’t be wrong”...
but you are wrong.(As we all are, by the way!)
Facts like… what
you think is me is your stuff in your
shadow. Facts like that I never demanded anything from you, or
manipulated you or emasculated you—that
that is your stuff. Facts like that
I have in fact grown more than you. Facts like am not the mental picture of me
that you have in your head.
I HOPED. Because
YOU started that conversation I really thought maybe we could deal in truth—that
stuff that sets us all free—and then be real friends. But then you cut off the
conversation because it made you (angry and) uncomfortable, so… No dice. Not
possible. That is never going to happen. Ergo, I have reached the sad conclusion
that we cannot be in any relationship as it is hurtful in the extreme to be
treated thus—USED-by you as a screen for your
stuff. It’s wrong. And it’s unproductive.
I HATE that in MY
life family is a source ONLY of pain… but it is. So--- unless you can own your stuff—this is “so long.” Any time you find it in yourself to say (even
ONLY to yourself) “I could be wrong”—you know where I am.